Pepper varieties and their aroma

Tasmansicher Bergpfeffer

Unique pepper varieties and their aroma profile. Information about the plant and the producing countries of pepper from Orlandosidee, your spice specialist.

Pepper varieties - Particular types of pepper

Assam PfefferRoter Kampot PfefferVoatsiperifery Madagaskar PfefferKubeben PfefferLanger Pfeffer

There is a large variety of unique types of pepper. The plant family of the pepper family includes over 700 species. How do the 700 species look like? You can find some with us. Do you know Assam pepper, for example? It looks like a blackberry. Real red Kampot pepper? Voatsiperifery, Kubeben stalk pepper or long pepper? These are all gourmet pepper types that we would like to introduce to you. We don't have all of them yet, but we're always looking for new taste experiences. Join us on this culinary journey and be won over by these new varieties. Bring them to life in your pepper mills and surprise guests and friends with your blends.

How does pepper taste? Are there any taste differences in a pepper?

There are taste differences in pepper, not only in their spiciness but also in their aroma. Anyone who has accidentally bitten a peppercorn knows that they can be very spicy. Not everyone likes this, and some people might think because they don't want to eat hot, that they don't need pepper to cook. But that's wrong. It is crucial for the aroma. The black pepper, for example, gives your dishes the round, earthy note they need, because the flavorings are in the pepper's fruit bowl. Black and green pepper have up to 4.8% and white pepper only 2.5% pepper oil.

The alkaloid piperine and its derivatives are responsible for the sharpness in pepper. These are essential oils in the peppercorn. Different varieties have different compositions and, therefore, different flavors. The range of characters in pepper is enormous. From slightly hot to scorching (long pepper), there are many nuances in the aroma from sweet to fruity to bitter.

In our online shop, you will find an aroma profile for every pepper we offer. You will also find suggestions for what it fits. These are just suggestions. Be brave and try it out. You can't go wrong. Slowly feel your way through the flavors by first using small amounts and trying as you like. After a while, you will find that you will come up with more and more ideas about how to eat a specific variety. I want to give you an additional tip along the way. Grind or mortar, your pepper always fresh, so you get the full aroma.

The pepper plant

 

The pepper plant is a sensitive climbing plant that only grows in the tropical climate. It needs constant humidity and lots of rain without standing in the water. It requires consistent warm temperatures. These climatic conditions only exist in the tropics. That is why the plant has spread around the equator. Today we find growing areas in these regions.

The pepper plant is a tropical climbing plant with a height of up to 10 meters in the wild. Here it grows up on trees of the jungle. On pepper plantations, however, it is grown on wooden posts, and its growth is limited to 3 meters. It also makes sense to make the harvest safer for the workers. The plant needs shade and lots of water. However, their roots must not be in the water; otherwise, they would start to rot and die. It is best to cultivate the pepper plant on hills so that the rainwater can drain off.

The pepper plant has slightly heart-shaped, leathery, green leaves. These reach a size of 20 cm in length with white flower spikes that have a range of approx: 3-15 cm and 50-150 single flowers. The plant is mostly hermaphrodite and therefore pollinates itself. After fertilization, the stone fruits, the pepper, emerge from the individual flowers. The pepper plant bears its fruits for the first time in the third year. From this point on, you can harvest the pepper twice a year. It can also be productive for up to 30 years.

Pepper plants are grown by growing cuttings. These cuttings are grown in the "pepper shop" until they are large enough to be transplanted to the plantation. Here they are planted next to stakes or dead tree trunks that serve as climbing aids.

Origin and primary producers of Pepper varieties

The pepper plant has its origin in southern India, today's Kerala state. Here it grows in the mountainous hinterland of the Malabar coast. It is also called the pepper coast.

In modern times, the pepper plant, which is a tropical tendril plant, is grown along the equator in many countries.

Leading producers of pepper:

  • Vietnam with about 98 505 tons
  • Indonesia with approx. 76 583 tons
  • India with 60 588 tons
  • Brazil with 51 546 tons
  • China with 23 901 tons
  • Malaysia with 22 653 tons
  • Sri Lanka with 21 312 tons
  • Thailand with 6 715 tons
  • Mexico 4,723 tons
  • Cameroon with 98 tons

Source FAOSTAT data for 2017

 Read on here

Pepper cultivation & processing

History of the pepper

Orlandosidee® Black Pepper Cameroon

Orlandosidee
80102
ex Shipping

Black gourmet pepper from Cameroon, buy on line herbs and spices in packages from 50 gr - 1 Kg

    Delivery time:3-5 days after payments received
Add to cart

Tellicherry Pepper, Black Pepper

Orlandosidee
80107
ex Shipping

Tellicherry Pepper - Organic Germ-reduced (cleaned in steam)

Tellicherry Pepper is a black pepper of the category TGSEB Extra Bold (extra-large peppercorns) Biosteamed. Buy it comfortably here in our spices shop of Orlandoidee, which we have been operating since 2005.

    Delivery time:3-5 days after payments received
Add to cart
!

Pfeffer Sorten und Ihr Aroma

Tasmansicher Bergpfeffer

Besondere Pfeffer Sorten und Ihr Aroma Profil. Infos zur Pflanze und die Anbau Länder von Pfeffer von Orlandosidee Ihrem Gewürze Spezialist.

Besondere Pfeffersorten

Assam PfefferRoter Kampot PfefferVoatsiperifery Madagaskar PfefferKubeben PfefferLanger Pfeffer

Es gibt eine große Vielfalt von besonderen Pfeffersorten. Die Pflanzenfamilie der Pfeffergewächse umfasst über 700 Arten. Wie sehen die 700 Arten aus? Bei uns können sie einige finden. Kennen sie zum Beispiel den Assam Pfeffer? Er sieht aus wie eine Brombeere. Echten roten Kampot Pfeffer? Voatsiperifery , Kubeben -Stielpfeffer oder Langenpfeffer ? Das sind alles Gourmet Pfeffersorten die wir ihnen gerne näher bringen wollen. Wir haben noch nicht alle, sind aber stetig auf der Suche nach neuen Geschmackserlebnissen. Begleiten sie uns auf diese Kulinarische Reise und lassen sie sich überzeugen von diesen neuen Sorten. Bringen sie leben in Ihre Pfeffermühlen und überraschen sie Gäste und Freunde mit Ihren eignen persönlichen Mischungen.

Wie schmeckt Pfeffer ? Gibt es Geschmacks Unterschiede beim Pfeffer?

Es gibt definitiv Geschmacksunterschiede beim Pfeffer, nicht nur in der Schärfe sondern auch im Aroma. Jeder der schon einmal aus versehen auf einen Pfefferkorn gebissen hat, weiß das diese sehr scharf sein können. Nicht jedem gefällt das und manch einer könnte denken weil er nicht gerne scharf isst, das er auch keinen Pfeffer zum Kochen benötigt. Das ist aber falsch. Er ist sehr wichtig für das Aroma. Der schwarze Pfeffer zum Beispiel verleiht Ihren Speisen die benötigte runde, erdige Note, weil die Aromastoffe in der Fruchtschale des Pfeffers stecken. Schwarzer und grüner Pfeffer haben bis zu 4,8 % und weißer nur 2,5 % Pfefferöl.

Verantwortlich für die schärfe im Pfeffer ist unter anderem das Alkaloid Piperin und deren Derivate. Diese sind ätherische Öle welche im Pfefferkorn stecken. Unterschiedliche Sorten haben andere Zusammensetzungen und daher auch andere Aromen. Die Geschmackliche Variationen beim Pfeffer ist riesig. Es gibt von leicht scharfen bis richtig scharf (langer Pfeffer) viele Nuancen im Aroma von süß über fruchtig bis bitter.

In unserem Online Shop finden sie zu jedem von uns angebotenen Pfeffer ein Aromaprofil. Außerdem finden sie Anregungen wozu er passt. Dies sind lediglich Vorschläge. Seien sie Mutig und Probieren sie sich einfach aus. Sie können gar nichts falsch machen. Tasten sie sich langsam an die Aromen heran, indem sie erst kleine Mengen verwenden und probieren wie es Ihnen gefällt. Nach einer Weile werden sie feststellen, das Ihnen immer mehr Ideen kommen werden womit sie eine Bestimmte Sorte essen wollen. Einen zusätzlichen Tipp möchte ich ihnen mit auf dem Weg geben. Mahlen oder Mörsern sie Ihren Pfeffer immer frisch, somit erhalten sie das volle Aroma.

Die Pfefferpflanze

 

Die Pfefferpflanze ist eine empfindliche Kletterpflanze, die nur im tropischen Klima wächst. Sie benötigt eine ständige Luftfeuchte und viel Regen, ohne im Wasser zu stehen. Dabei braucht sie gleichbleibende warme Temperaturen. Diese Klimatische Konditionen sind nur in den Tropen gegeben. Deshalb hat sich auch die Pflanze rund um dem Äquator ausgebreitet. Heute Anbaugebiete finden wir in diesen Regionen.

Die Pfefferpflanze ist eine tropische Kletterpflanze mit einer Wuchshöhe von bis zu 10 Metern in freier Natur. Hier wächst sie an Bäumen des Urwaldes empor. Auf Pfefferplantagen wird sie allerdings an Holzpfählen gezogen und Ihr Wachstum auf 3 Meter begrenzt. Das ist auch Sinnvoll um die Ernte sicherer für die Arbeiter zu gestalten. Die Pflanze benötigt Schatten und viel Wasser. Ihre Wurzeln dürfen jedoch nicht im Wasser stehen, sonst würde sie anfangen zu faulen und eingehen. Am besten kultiviert man die Pfefferpflanze auf Hügeln, damit das Regenwasser abfließen kann.

Die Pfefferpflanze hat leicht Herz-eiförmige, ledrige, grüne Blätter. Diese erreichen eine Größe von 20 cm in der Länge. Ihre weißen Blütenähren haben eine Länge von ca 3- 15 cm und 50 -150 Einzelblüten. Die Pflanze ist überwiegend Zwittrig und bestäubt sich somit selbst. Aus den Einzelblüten entstehen nach der Befruchtung die Steinfrüchte, der Pfeffer. Die Pfefferpflanze trägt im dritten Jahr das erste Mal ihre Früchte. Ab diesen Zeitpunkt kann man den Pfeffer zweimal im Jahr ernten. Außerdem kann sie bis zu 30 Jahre ertragreich sein.

Die Aufzucht von Pfefferpflanzen erfolgt indem man sie von Stecklingen vermehrt. Diese Stecklinge werden in der "Pfeffernursery" gezogen bis sie groß genug sind um auf die Plantage umgepflanzt zu werden. Hier werden sie neben Pfählen oder toten Baumstämmen gepflanzt die als Kletterhilfe dienen.

Ursprung und Hauptproduzenten

Die Pfefferpflanze hat Ihren Ursprung in Südindien, dem heutigen Bundesstaat Kerala. Hier wächst sie im gebirgigen Hinterland der Malabar Küste. Man nennt sie auch die Pfeffer Küste.

In der Heutigen Zeit wird die Pfefferpflanze, welche ja eine tropische Ranke Pflanze ist, in vielen Ländern entlang des Äquators angebaut.

Hauptproduzenten von Pfeffer :

  • Vietnam mit ca 98 505 Tonnen
  • Indonesien mit ca. 76 583 Tonnen
  • Indien mit 60 588 Tonnen
  • Brasilien mit 51 546 Tonnen
  • China mit 23 901 Tonnen
  • Malaysia mit 22 653 Tonnen
  • Sri Lanka mit 21 312 Tonnen
  • Thailand mit 6 715 Tonnen
  • Mexiko 4 723Tonnen
  • Kamerun mit 98 Tonnen

Quelle FAOSTAT Daten für das Jahr 2017

 Lesen sie hier weiter