Tonca beans - Dipteryc odorata - Brazil

Orlandosidee
80228
From
ex Shipping
    Delivery time:3-5 days after payments received
Add to cart
  • Description
  • More

Tonca beans - Dipteryc odorata - from Brazil

  • Tonca beans are similar in flavor to Vanilla
  • Vanilla Replacement
  • Mango sorbet, pistachio cream, cakes, ice cream
  • Tomato soup, game dishes, Creamy Brulée
  • other names Tonc bean, Tongo beans, Tonko beans

What are tonka beans - Diptheryc odorata?

Tonca Beans - Dipteryc odorata from Brazil are the seeds of a butterfly flower plant, the Tonka tree, which is native to the Caribbean and South America. The Tonka beans are extracted from by the Tonka fruits and are then dried. But before they are dried, they get a daily bath in rum, which reduces the high coumarin content of the bean. Tonka fruits are oval, yellow, 10 cm long, and resemble a mango, with just one seed. Its pulp is sticky, tasteless, and smells terrible. The seeds, however, are the fragrant, almond-shaped, dark brown to black, 3-6 cm long tonka beans.

What do tonca beans taste like?

The taste of tonka beans is sweet and reminiscent of vanilla, bitter almond, and woodruff. It is very complex and intense. It is used mostly as a vanilla substitute, with a slightly bitter taste compared to vanilla. The Tonka bean belongs to the varieties of intensive spices, and you use them sparingly. It also has a high coumarin content, which is responsible for the intensity of the spice. It would be best if you did not consume Coumarin in large quantities. About 2 mg per kg of food is classified as harmless. The tonka bean is a spice of the star chefs.

How do you use tonca beans?

The tonka bean is a hard seed, which, like the nutmeg, is best used sparingly with a spice grater. To aromatize your food creations, usually, a pinch or a maximum of a knife tip is sufficient.

The tonca bean goes well with all desserts, whether on whipped cream or in cocoa or more complex as in the upscale gastronomy. Today, many star chefs refine their new desserts creations with tonka beans, such as mango sorbet, pistachio cream, or fruit compote. It even goes well with sorbet, chocolate, Christmas cookies, cakes, biscuits, chocolates, and marzipan. Besides, you can refine a tomato soup or tomato sauce with its unique aroma. The tonka bean is intense and also goes well with intensive dishes like venison (venison, deer, or wild boar). Try a variant of Crème Brulée with Tonca Bean. It gives the cream an extraordinary aroma. After that, you can remove and dry the tonka bean. It can be used for four more uses of this kind and is sufficiently aromatic.

How do I store spices?

Storage: It is best to keep the tonka beans cool, dry, airtight, and protected from the sun.

Perfumery Industry: The coumarin content is responsible for the intense scent of the tonka beans, which makes them highly sought after by the perfume industry to produce fragrances.

Good to know about Dipteryc odorata

The tonka bean, or the ingredient coumarin, is also used as a substitute for real vanilla because of its vanilla-like taste under the name "Mexican vanilla." In Germany the prohibited from 1981 onwards the use of the plant for food preparation. Since 1991, this prohibition exists in a limited form. The use of tonka beans is only permitted if the maximum allowed levels of Coumarin in the prepared food are not exceeded. According to Annex 4 to Section 2 (3) of the Flavorings Ordinance, these are currently 2 mg per kg. These limits apply to Coumarin as a food additive. These rules don't apply when they use them in perfumes or candles.

The tonka bean, or the ingredient cumarin, is also used under the name "Mexican vanilla" as a substitute for real vanilla due to its vanilla-like flavor. The use of the plant for preparation in food was prohibited in Germany from 1981 onwards. Since 1991 this prohibition has been limited. The use of the tonka bean is only permitted if the maximum permitted levels for coumarin are not exceeded in the prepared food. According to Annex 4 to Article 2 (3) of the Flavor Ordinance, these are currently 2 mg per kg. These maximum limits apply to coumarin as a food additive, but not to use as a flavoring agent, e.g. In perfumes or candles.

Culinary use of tonka beans

Tonka beans are sweet in taste and resemble vanilla. They are often used

Related Products
!

Tonkabohnen

Orlandosidee
80228
Ab
exkl. Versand
    Lieferzeit:3-5 Werktage nach Zahlung
In den Einkaufswagen
  • Beschreibung
  • Mehr

Tonkabohnen - Dipteryx odorata 

(Andere Namen Toncabohnen, Tongobohnen, Tonkobohnen, engl. Tonca bean )

Die Tonkabohne ist der Samen eines Schmetterlingsblütengewächs, der des Tonkabaumes, welcher in der Karibik und in Südamerika heimisch ist. Die Tonkabohnen gewinnt man, indem man sie aus den Tonka Früchten heraustrennt und trocknet. Bevor sie aber getrocknet werden bekommen sie aber noch ein Tages Bad in Rum, welcher den hohen Cumarin Gehalt der Bohne reduziert. Diese Tonka Früchte sind oval, gelb, 10 cm lang und ähneln einer Mango, mit genau einen Samen. Ihr Fruchtfleisch ist klebrig, geschmacklos und riecht schlecht. Die Samen allerdings sind die wohlriechenden, mandelförmigen dunkelbraun bis schwarzen, 3-6 cm lange Tonkabohnen.

Das Aroma der Tonkabohnen

Das Aroma der Tonkabohnen ist süß und erinnert an Vanille, Bittermandel und Waldmeister. Es ist sehr komplex und intensiv. Es wird am meisten als Vanille Ersatz eingesetzt, wobei es einen leicht bitteren Geschmack hat im Vergleich zur Vanille. Die gibt ihm aber auch seinen Reiz und eine überraschende Note. Die Tonka Bohne gehört zu den Sorten der intensiven Gewürze und sollte sparsam eingesetzt werden. Sie hat außerdem einen hohen Cumarin Gehalt, welcher für die Intensität des Gewürzes verantwortlich ist. Cumarin sollte nicht in großen Mengen verzehrt werden ca. 2 mg pro Kg Speise werden als unbedenklich eingestuft. Die Tonkabohne ist im wahrsten Sinne ein Gewürz der Sterneköche, sie haben diese quasi zum Leben - Einsatz wiederentdeckt.

Wie wird die Tonkabohne verwendet?

Die Tonkabohne ist ein harter Samen, der ähnlich wie die Muskatnuss am besten mit einer Gewürz reibe niedrig dosiert wird. Zum Aromatisieren Ihrer Speisekreationen reicht meist eine Prise oder maximal eine Messerspitze aus.

Dazu passt die Tonkabohne

Die Tonkabohne passt eigentlich zu allen Süßspeisen, ob einfach auf Schlagsahne oder im Kakao oder mehr komplex wie in der gehobenen Gastronomie. Heute werden viele Desserts der Sterneköche mit Tonkabohnen raffiniert verfeinert, wie zum Beispiel ein Mango Sorbet, Pistazien creme oder Obst Kompott. Sie passt zu Sorbet, in Schokolade, in Christstollen, Kuchen, Keksen, Pralinen aber auch in Marzipan.

Des weiteren verfeinert sie mit Ihrem einzigartigen Aroma ein Tomatensuppe oder Tomatensauce. Da sie ja selber sehr intensiv ist, passt sie auch zu intensiven Speisen wie Wild (Reh, Hirsch oder Wildschwein).

Probieren sie doch mal eine Variante von Crème Brulée mit der Tonkabohne. Hierfür kochen sie einfach bei der Zubereitung der Crème eine Tonka Bohne in der Milch Sahne Mischung mit auf. Dies verleiht der Creme ein außerordentliches Aroma. Danach können sie die Tonkabohne entfernen und trocknen. Sie ist für noch 4 weitere Einsätze dieser Art zu gebrauchen und ausreichend aromatisch.

Aufbewahrung Am besten bewahren sie die Tonkabohnen kühl, trocken, luftdicht und vor Sonneneinstrahlungen geschützt auf.

Parfüm Industrie Der Cumarin Gehalt ist verantwortlich für den intensiven Duft der Tonkabohne, dies macht diese auch sehr begehrt für die Parfüm Industrie zur Herstellung von Düften.

Wissenswert Die Tonkabohne, bzw. der Inhaltsstoff Cumarin, wird aufgrund ihres Vanille ähnlichen Geschmacks auch unter der Bezeichnung „mexikanische Vanille“ als Ersatz für echte Vanille verwendet. Die Verwendung der Pflanze zur Zubereitung in Lebensmitteln war in Deutschland ab 1981 zeitweise verboten. Seit 1991 existiert dieses Verbot in eingeschränkter Form. Die Verwendung der Tonkabohne ist nur erlaubt, wenn die zulässigen Höchstwerte für Cumarin in der zubereiteten Speise nicht überschritten werden. Diese liegen gemäß Anlage 4 zu § 2 Abs. 3 der Aromen Verordnung aktuell bei 2 mg pro kg. Diese Höchstgrenzen gelten für Cumarin als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff, nicht jedoch bei der Verwendung als Aromastoff, wie z.B. in Parfums oder Kerzen.

Die Tonkabohne, bzw. der Inhaltsstoff Cumarin, wird aufgrund ihres vanilleähnlichen Geschmacks auch unter der Bezeichnung „mexikanische Vanille“ als Ersatz für echte Vanille verwendet. Die Verwendung der Pflanze zur Zubereitung in Lebensmitteln war in Deutschland ab 1981 zeitweise verboten. Seit 1991 existiert dieses Verbot in eingeschränkter Form. Die Verwendung der Tonkabohne ist nur erlaubt, wenn die zulässigen Höchstwerte für Cumarin in der zubereiteten Speise nicht überschritten werden. Diese liegen gemäß Anlage 4 zu § 2 Abs. 3 der Aromenverordnung aktuell bei 2 mg pro kg. Diese Höchstgrenzen gelten für Cumarin als Lebensmittelzusatzstoff, nicht jedoch bei der Verwendung als Aromastoff, wie z.B. in Parfums oder Kerzen.

Kulinarische Verwendung der Tonkabohnen

Tonkabohnen sind süß im Geschmack und ähneln der Vanille. Sie werden gerne als Vanilleersatz in Süßspeisen verwendet.