Tahiti Vanilla Pods - French Polynesia

Orlandosidee
80518
From
    Delivery time:3-5 working days
  • Description

Tahitian Vanilla - Vanilla Tahitensis - French Polynesia

  • Tahiti Vanilla Vanilla Tahitensis from the island of the same name
  • floral-musky, reminiscent of cherries & plums in the taste
  • meaty and very productive pods
  • most expensive vanilla pod, preferred by star gastronomy

Tahitian Vanilla from French Polynesia

Tahitian Vanilla is the most expensive pod in the world. The production is entirely made by hand and very labor-intensive. It is cultivated on the South Sea island of Tahiti, and there is only a small amount of around 15 tons per year for the entire world market.

These unique pods of the Tahitenis Vanilla have an astonishingly different aroma profile than the bourbon pods. They taste surprisingly floral, musky, and at the same time, fruity like cherries and plums. Additionally, they are thicker and fleshier, therefore, more productive than the Bourbon pods. Today, it counts as its type of Vanilla, and you can find it mainly in star gastronomy or among amateur chefs. They use their surprising aroma profile to give their new culinary creations a surprise effect.

What do I use the Tahitian vanilla pods for?

The Tahitian vanilla pods are suitable for all desserts. You can use it to make ice cream, panna cotta, vanilla sauce, and hearty dishes.

What does the Tahitian Vanilla taste like?

The taste of Tahiti vanilla is exceptionally complex. It combines a fruity sweetness of cherries and plums with spicy anise and musk notes. It smells sensual & exotic. Their aroma harmonizes not only in desserts but also with hearty dishes. It differs from bourbon vanilla, which has a sweet, cocoa-like, and at the same time, robust and complex aroma.

What is Vanilla?

Vanilla beans are the fruit of an orchid; the genus Vanilla is also the only fruiting orchid in the Orchidaceae family. The Vanilla planifolia also has its origin in Mesoamerica - Mexico. Here, the capsule fruit naturally grows through the fertilization of the Melipona bee native to the region.

In the 19th century, the Dutch and French brought the vanilla plants to their colonies and tried to produce vanilla beans. It was not until around 1840 that the orchid flowers were pollinated by hand in the French territory of Réunion (Bourbon Island). So it was finally possible to cultivate the Vanilla in other tropical countries.

Today, Madagascar and the island of Bourbon produce around 80 percent of the Vanilla, which can be called Bourbon Vanilla.

What is the difference between Tahitian Vanilla and other varieties?

The Tahitian Vanilla, also Tahitensis Vanilla, is a hybrid, so it was created from two types, namely the Vanilla Aromatica and Vanilla Fragrans. It has a unique taste. It also contains less vanillin than the Vanilla Planifolia and is therefore of no interest to many customers on the world market. The biggest buyers of vanilla sticks are the perfume industry, and they need vanillin.

Why is the Tahitian Vanilla Bean so much more expensive than others?

Not only is the production very labor and time-intensive, but above all, real manual work. Again, there is no natural pollination of the flowers. Each one must be pollinated by hand. Besides, the majority of the pods grow on Taha’a, which is only 35 square miles in size. The harvest is, therefore, meager at 15 tons for the world market.

!

Tahiti Vanille - Südsee Insel Tahiti

Orlandosidee
80518
Ab
    Lieferzeit:Ausverkauft
  • Beschreibung

Tahiti Vanille - Vanilla Tahitensis - Französisch Polinesien

  • Tahiti Vanille Vanilla Tahitensis von der gleichnamigen Süßseeinsel
  • blumig-moschusarig, erinnert an Kirschen & Pflaumen im Geschmack
  • fleischige und sehr ergiebige Schoten
  • teuerste Vanilleschote, bevorzugt von der Sternegastronomie

Tahiti-Vanille von Französisch Polynesien

Die Tahiti Vanille ist die teuerste Schote der Welt. In mühsamer Handarbeit auf der Südseeinsel Tahiti angebaut, gibt es nur eine geringe Menge von circa 15 Tonnen pro Jahr für den gesamten Weltmarkt.

Diese speziellen Schoten der Tahitenis-Vanilla hat ein verblüffend anderes Aromaprofil als die Bourbonschoten. Sie schmeckt überraschend blumig, moschusartig und gleichzeitig fruchtig nach Kirsche & Pflaume. Sie ist außerdem dicker und fleischiger und somit ergiebiger als die Bourbonschoten. Heute zählt sie ebenfalls als eine eigene Vanille-Art und man trifft sie vor allem in der Sterne-Gastronomie oder bei Hobbyköchen, die Ihr überraschendes Aromaprofil nutzen, um Ihren neuen kulinarischen Kreationen einen Überraschungseffekt zu verleihen.

Wofür verwende ich die Tahiti-Vanilleschoten?

Die Tahiti-Vanilleschoten eignen sich für alle Süßspeisen. Man kann mit ihr Eis herstellen, Pannacotta, Vanillesoße sowie auch herzhafte Gerichte.

Wie schmeckt die Tahiti-Vanille?

Der Geschmack der Tahiti- Vanille ist äußerst komplex. Sie vereint eine fruchtige Süße von Kirschen und Pflaumen mit würzigen Anis und Moschus Noten. Sie duftet sinnlich & exotisch. Ihr Aroma harmoniert nicht nur in Süßspeisen, sondern auch bei herzhaften Gerichten. Sie unterscheidet sich somit von der Bourbonvanille die ein süßes, Kakao artiges und gleichzeitig schweres komplexes Aroma aufweist.

Was ist Vanille?

Vanilleschoten sind die Früchte einer Orchidee, deren Gattung Vanilla ist außerdem die einzige fruchttragende Orchidee in der Familie der Orchidaceae. Die Vanilla planifolia hat ferner Ihren Ursprung in Mesoamerika – Mexiko. Nur hier wachsen die Kapselfrüchte auf natürliche Weise durch die Befruchtung der dort beheimaten Melipona Biene.

Im 19 Jahrhundert brachten Holländer und Franzosen die Vanillepflanzen in Ihre Kolonien, und versuchten Vanilleschoten zu produzieren. Erst um ca 1840 schaffte man es in der französischen Kolonie der Insel Réunion (Insel Bourbon) die Blüten der Orchidee von Hand zu bestäuben. Somit war es endlich möglich, die Vanille in anderen tropischen Ländern zu kultivieren.

Heute produziert Madagaskar und die Insel Bourbon circa 80 Prozent der Vanille, welche den Namen Bourbon Vanille tragen darf.

Was unterscheidet die Tahiti-Vanille von andern Sorten?

Die Tahiti Vanille auch Tahitensis Vanille ist eigentlich ein Hybrid, somit ist sie entstanden, aus zwei Arten nämlich der vanilla aromatica und vanilla fragrans. Sie ist einzigartig im Geschmack. Sie beinhaltet außerdem weniger Vanillin als die Vanilla Planifolia und somit ist sie für viele Kunden auf dem Weltmarkt uninteressant. Die größten Abnehmer von Vanillestangen sind die Parfümindustrie und die benötigen das Vanillin.

Warum ist die Tahiti-Vanilleschote so viel teurer als andere?

Nicht nur ist die Produktion sehr arbeits- und zeitintensiv, sondern vor allem reine Handarbeit. Auch hier gibt es keine natürliche Bestäubung der Blüten. Jede Einzelne muss von Hand bestäubt werden. Zusätzlich wird der überwiegende Teil der Schoten auf der Insel Taha’a angebaut, die auch nur 35 Quadratmeilen groß ist. Somit ist die Ernte sehr gering mit 15 Tonnen für den Weltmarkt.

Gewürze online kaufen - Orlandosidee seit 2005

!